top of page

Interview passed


On Tuesday, May 30, 2017 5:01 PM, Dustin Thelander <dustin.thelander@myldsmail.net> wrote:

I'd just like to take a quick moment to talk about testimony. That which one has can indeed be lost. That which we have must be held onto as something sacred. A testimony has a shelf life. We must nurture it and renew it, so to speak, or it can indeed expire. Just a little food for thought there.

On Tuesday after a fun district meeting where we played a fun game of Jeopardy, we were able to go to the Hayes home with Elder Ward, our district leader, to do her baptismal interview. They totally forgot that we were coming but were available and the interview was done. Ovionna did great, and that is humongous hurdle number one passed. She had a huge smile on her face when she got to tell her mom she had passed the interview. The ward is now doing a great job to take care of everything that needs to be done for the service which will likely be on June 9th. We actually had a pretty good day on Wednesday. We had interviews with out president, and it was fantastic. He is such an amazing and inspired leader. I look forward to every interaction with him. After our interviews with Elders Richins and Paxton, we went to a place called Black Bear Diner and had an amazing breakfast. After our recovery from the meal, we went out and were able to see the "Ras" family. We had a good visit and then showed a video. Again it was the "Music of the Gospel" video which I have fallen in love with. Brother Ras is a really funny man who does have a spiritual side, but he doesn't like to show it. Conversation after the video was limited, but we know something resonated on the inside. Then we saw Veronica for another recent convert lesson.

Thursday was not all that great. We went up to Rancho to pick up supplies and from there were going to go to Cal Poly Pomona to talk to people. Well, while on our way to the Mission office I wasn't feeling that great. While there it got worse, so we decided to go home after getting supplies. Long story short, I don't know what it was, but something I ate for breakfast didn't agree, and I was very sick. Enough said. After that, I laid down for a little bit while my stomach recovered, and we were able to go back to work in the evening. Highlight of the day was dinner with the Guzman family, who are awesome. We had a good time there and then we tried some more people with no success.

Friday was a great day which was nice following a slow Thursday. We did our weekly planning session at our now regular place, Barnes and Noble. I had a great session there with Elder Lanier and then we headed to Yader's house to try and catch his cousin home. Well, the cousin wasn't home, but Yader was and we talked to him and his other cousin for a while. We got talking about baseball, and then about traveling, and then when I go home. So, in short, we talked about my summer plans then shared a message. It was pretty fun. I feel bad for Elder Lanier sometimes, he just gets to hear about all my fun plans, and he's got a year left! Then in the evening we saw the Rice family and talked with them about following the prophet. It is so wonderful that the Lord is revealing his truths to His prophet today. We for sure live in a day where I'd say having direction from Heaven is super important. On Saturday, aside from playing basketball in the morning, we didn't really have anything go on. We went around walking for like 3 hours (reminded me of the Upland days) looking to talk to people. Well, in that space of time we saw like 3 living humans that did their best to evade us. But, we did talk to a family and gave them a Restoration pamphlet. So, you never know what good that can do. We met with the Pouaga family in the evening and had a great talk with them. They are a Tongan family in the ward. They want to feed us, we will comply.

Sunday's church meetings were fantastic. We heard a couple of talks about personal revelation. I truly believe that the Lord talks to me, and gives me specific direction for my life. After all, it is his work and glory to being me back into His presence. It was a great time to reflect and see how the Lord's hand has touched my life. Yesterday we played some tennis in the morning, followed by bowling in the afternoon, and then basketball in the later afternoon. It was a lot of fun.

The scripture of the week is from Jacob, chapter 5, verse 71 "And the Lord of the vineyard said unto them: Go to, and labor in the vineyard, with your might. For behold, this is the last time that I shall nourish my vineyard; for the end is nigh at hand, and the season speedily cometh; and if ye labor with your might with me ye shall have joy in the fruit which I shall lay up unto myself against the time which will soon come."

Love,

Elder Thelander


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page