top of page

I Love the Lord, in Him My Soul Delights


From me- this is the last letter I will be forwarding from Dustin. Thank you to those of you who read them and enjoyed the journey with us! Take a minute to read this one because it truly is the most incredible thing. Love to you all!

Lori

On Monday, June 12, 2017 12:54 PM, Dustin Thelander <dustin.thelander@myldsmail.net> wrote:

Following our email session last week, I was able to attend my final batting cage session, and it was fantastic. I feel slightly capable of hitting live pitching, but time will tell. We then had a Family Home Evening/birthday party at the Zavala's. It was their son, Christian's birthday, so we had cake and some pizza. Family home evening is just a fantastic way to end our Monday.

Tuesday brought with it another District meeting. I led a discussion on how the 1st chapter of 1 Nephi in the Book of Mormon is insanely similar to the experience Joseph Smith had just 2400 years before his time. It was really cool to see how the Lord talks with and leads His church through a prophet. We then had to run the remainder of the bikes from transfers around which took a good amount of time. It was nice to get that done and to get Elder Schmidt unpacked. Then I really started, and am still, helping Elder Schmidt to learn the area. In my opinion, he will be the one running the show coming up later this week. We tried by a ton of people with no luck but finished off the night strong at the Zalava's for dinner.

Wednesday was not too exciting. We went to the homes of what seemed to be a million people, and none of them seemed to be home. So, as we walked and talked we had the chance to get to know each other a little bit better. I really love Elder Schmidt, he has made these last couple of days super fun and lively which for a missionary in his last couple of days (me) is invaluable. We had the Book of Mormon class in the evening, and I really loved it. Even though no one really comes, it is a great chance to hear other insights on the scriptures and learn more about what the Lord wants you to know.

Thursday was really fun. We made our supply run, which was weird again, driving by the airport I would be taking off from in a week. Then we ran over to Cal Poly Pomona to talk to people. I had some amazing conversations with people about Christ and how much He loves us, about how perfectly He loves us. What was cool, as well, is that it is finals week for them, so all these students are borderline exhausted and stressed out of their minds. I saw a couple of them as I talked to them about how prayer can help us become more relaxed. I testified that God loves us so much that He even cares about how you do on your test. So I encouraged the people I talked with to say a little prayer before their test, and then God would give them the comfort and help that they need. We later did service at the Farm Store, and we swept the whole place. After a dinner with the Blocker family at Golden Corral, we visited the Isaacs family. Sister Isaacs was not feeling well, but we talked to Brother Isaacs and had an amazing conversation. We talked about where we want the direction of our lives to go. I read from Mosiah where the people are gathered to hear their king and prophet speak. Each had their tent pointed toward the temple. That is what we must each do, point our lives toward the temple of God. The question we must ask ourselves is whether or not the decisions we make are moving us closer to or away from God.

Friday was amazing!!! We went out for a little bit in the morning and then went back to the apartment to weekly plan. It was a great session, and Elder Schmidt really seems to be getting to know the area really well. Then we headed to the church to set up for the baptism of Ovionna. It was an incredible service. Elder Lanier gave a great talk, and there was a great turn out for the support of the family. It was amazing to see Brother Hayes get emotional in the baptismal font before he baptized his daughter. Ovionna had such a glow about her the rest of the night. On Saturday, there was another baptism in the area, so we having the keys to the font, had to be there to help set up. We got that ready to go and then went over to Chino to visit with Christian Zavala. We had a great meeting with him, and then we were able to see the Rasmussen family. They are still as funny as ever, and we were able to get a great scripture in with them. For dinner, we went to Sister Zapalac's home. She has had some trials, but through a series of events committed to God that she would take care of the missionaries and feed them once a month. As part of that, she wants to be taught the lessons. So, we ate and then taught the Restoration lesson. The spirit was so strong, and we, the trio, taught as if we had done it a million times (we hadn't even had the chance to practice yet). The spirit made it happen.

Yesterday was incredible as well. Brother Hayes confirmed Ovionna a member of the church and bestowed upon her the gift of the Holy Ghost. Elder Lanier and I got to participate in that and I could feel the presence of heaven as Brother Hayes spoke. Later in the day, we visited some members that I have gotten really close to. It was great to see them and talk about the future and the great things that have happened in my time here. Today we will have some lunch and dinner with a couple of amazing families and then play some sports.

So, I guess I have been trying not to think too much about it, but this is my last email home. Yikes, it looks odd in writing. But, I just want everyone who reads this and who has read my previous emails how much I love my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. I know that He lives and loves us each. He knows me and you by name. My mission has been the greatest experience of my life and will shape the rest of my life. My mission has changed me. I know of the greatness and glories of God, I know how the Holy Ghost speaks to me, and I can see better now than ever before people through the eyes of Christ. My love for each of His children has grown exponentially. I have the spiritual tools now to do whatever the Lord needs me to do. I have the teaching skills and spiritual sensitivity to help others build their faith, my future children especially. I know for a fact, in this world full of chaos, that I can turn to the Lord for peace. There is so much more I could say, but I feel a scripture says it so so well.

The scripture of the week is from Alma, chapter 26, verse 16, and I'll preface it a little bit. This is written by Ammon, a great missionary who has just returned from his extremely successful mission. He has been a great example to me of how I should serve as a missionary, this is what he said, "Therefore, let us glory, yea, we will glory in the Lord; yea, we will rejoice, for our joy is full; yea, we will praise our God forever. Behold, who can glory too much in the Lord? Yea, who can say too much of his great power, and of his mercy, and of his long-suffering towards the children of men? Behold, I say unto you, I cannot say the smallest part which I feel."

I can't say the smallest part which I feel right now. But, I feel the love of the Lord, and He has confirmed to me that my service has been acceptable in His sight, and in that, I glory. I also glory in being able to see all of you soon. I love you all so much! I thank you from the bottom of my heart for the support you have shown me for these two years. I thank you for your prayers, I have felt them, and they have supported and strengthened me. I love you all so much. See you soon!!!

Love,

Elder Thelander


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page